Announcing our new 2022 GIH external projects!

28 Feb 2022

GIH logoAs with our previous years' calls for collaborative project proposals, we again received many excellent applications for GIH projects from researchers across UQ. We'd like to thank all the applicants and acknowledge the effort and time it takes in preparing project proposals.

After the difficult task of selecting from these applications the relatively few projects to proceed with, we are now excited to officially announce our new collaborative projects and lead researchers for 2022! We look forward to starting these projects soon and all the genomic and genetic developments that will arise from these diverse research areas.


Using nanopore sequence to test mRNA vaccine quality.

Dr Helen Gunter, A/Prof Timothy Mercer, Senel Idrisoglu, Dr Romain Tropee and Prof Trent Munro. 
Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN) and BASE (RNA/DNA Biomanufacture) facility.

Enrichment and analysis of functional small interfering RNAs for optimised topical RNAi applications.

Dr Donald Gardiner, Dr Chris Brosnan and Mr Stephen Fletcher. 
ARC Hub for Sustainable Crop Protection, Centre for Horticultural Science, Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation (QAAFI).


Decoding temporal control of cell differentiation by division-based single-cell-sequencing probe.

Dr Mehrdad Pazhouhandeh and Prof Di Yu.
The University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, Faculty of Medicine.

Cleared for recombination – identification and exploitation of genome landing pads for cattle.

Prof Tim Mahony, Dr Sarah Withey, Ms Tatiana Briody, Dr Elizabeth Ross, Prof Ben Hayes, Dr Karishma Mody. 
Centre for Animal Science (QAAFI)Centre for Horticultural Science, QAAFIAustralian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN).

Development of a field-friendly adaptive sequencing pipeline to increase sensitivity of metagenomic sequencing of low biomass samples.

Dr. Seweryn Bialasiewicz and Dr. Julian Zaugg. 
School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences (SCMB), Faculty of Science, and the Australian Centre for Ecogenomics (ACE).

Multi-contact Pore-C: Telomere-to-telomere genome assembly using ultra-long reads and Pore-C scaffolding.

Dr Hyungtaek Jung, Dr Loan Nguyen, Dr Elizabeth Ross, Prof Ben Hayes, A/Prof Craig Hardner, Dr Bradley Campbell and the Oxford Nanopore Technologies Team.

Centre for Animal Science, QAAFI, Centre for Horticultural Science, QAAFI, Centre for Crop Science, QAAFI and Oxford Nanopore Technologies.